技术彻底改变医院培训和教育的三种方式

当涉及到教学和学习外科手术时,手术室(OR)的空间是有限的。那么,如果你不在房间里也能在场呢? 

Rods&Cones公司的创新数字技术正在帮助医疗专业人员从世界任何地方进行实时安全连接。

无论他们是在隔壁房间、不同的医院、医学院,甚至是在地球另一端的舒适家中,学生、医生和辅助外科医生都在利用远程手术辅助技术的教育优势。 

利用智能手术眼镜和数字远程访问平台的组合,技术正在开放对手术室的安全视频和音频访问,并创造了使全球最佳医疗技能、专业知识和建议民主化的潜力。

让我们仔细看看领先的医疗从业者利用这一创新技术来加强医院的培训和教育的三种方式。 

 

远程居民培训

2019年,妇科医生Martine Wassen博士和Nicol Smeets博士成为荷兰第一位使用一种新的外科手术的外科医生,这种手术被称为 自然腔道内窥镜手术(NOTES).该手术是一种微创外科技术,利用人体的自然孔道进入腹腔。

当他们在2021年进行阴道辅助NOTES子宫切除术时,这项革命性的技术通过Rods&Cones技术向Zuyderland医疗中心的多名居民进行了实时和高清的视频播放。 

有了更完整的手术视野,居民能够通过远程手术辅助平台提问并与外科医生直接交流,这使得观看者和外科医生之间有了完整的视觉和听觉联系。 

从这项技术的广播中学习,创造了极大地改善病人结果的潜力,从而减少疤痕、术后疼痛、缩短住院时间和减少并发症。

这只是一个例子,说明诊断成像可以向外科医生和居民广播,以不断改善病人的治疗效果,促进最新技术的分享,并对数百万病人产生积极影响。

 

牙科手术训练营 

今年早些时候,一个 牙科训练营 是在比利时根特的Van der Valk酒店举行的。在 "Crown-Guide Bootcamp "期间,观众能够在酒店的一间会议室里远程跟踪一个现场的单颗牙齿种植和即时装载程序。

该手术由牙周病专家Guillaume De Moyer和Valentin Vervack执行,在牙科手术中利用Rods&Cones设备与观众进行远程连接,其中包括使用Straumann骨水平植入物来成功完成手术。 

通过这种方式播放手术,使一屋子的牙科专业人员能够学习如何成功地计划这项手术,包括如何制作临时牙冠,以及如何一步步地进行种植。在带有音频的高清大屏幕上观看手术实况,比在手术室里与外科医生并肩作战更能清楚地了解手术的情况。    

 

点对点咨询

当领导麻醉师的专家们在 特霍河医院中心(CHMT)。 介绍了一种创新的新麻醉程序,他们使用Rodes&Cones数字技术从手术室外提供专业协助。 

这种微创麻醉技术是全身麻醉的替代方案,对于心脏病患者--尤其是脆弱的患者--来说,这是一笔不可否认的财富,有可能拯救许多生命。当努诺-佛朗哥的团队在葡萄牙进行手术时,位于千里之外的奥地利的一位专业专家正在给他们提供如何成功实施麻醉的确切指示。 

 

外科培训和教育的未来

正如这三个例子所显示的,远程访问手术室让医疗从业人员更好地了解手术过程,并有助于加强外科培训和教育。通过实时连接专家、学生和医生与手术室,Rods&Cones公司的手术辅助技术正在帮助教育外科医生了解新的手术,并使外科工作人员能够在全球范围内分享最佳实践。 

现在,全球的外科医生可以邀请同行和学生进入任何手术室,实时跟踪手术。医学生可以目睹现场手术过程,而有经验的同行在现场手术中提供建议和评论。而当这些学生第一次做手术时,他们可以获得手把手的指导,因为更有经验的同事会远程指导他们的工作。 

无论是与同事的沟通,还是资深外科医生的专家建议,Rods&Cones公司的联网远程视频技术使医疗专业人员能够在任何时候获得及时的支持。这也意味着世界上偏远地区的外科医生可以与国际专家联系,在复杂的手术中获得实时指导。 

从现有的外科医生到完成医学资格的学生,学习者现在可以从第一人称的角度,而不是从与外科医生90度的角度观看手术。  

了解更多 关于在医院和医学院使用Rods&Cones技术进行外科培训和教育。

与销售人员交谈

Three Ways Technology is Revolutionizing Training and Education in Hospitals

When it comes to teaching and learning surgical procedures, there’s only so much space in the operating room (OR). So what if you could be present without being in the room? 

Innovative digital technology from Rods&Cones is helping medical professionals to connect safely from anywhere in the world, in real-time.

Whether they’re located in the next room, a different hospital, a medical school, or even in the comfort of their own home on the other side of the globe, students, physicians, and assisting surgeons are leveraging the educational benefits of remote surgical assistance technologies. 

Using a combination of smart surgery glasses and a digital remote access platform, technology is opening up secure video and audio access to the OR and creating the potential to democratize the best medical skills, expertise, and advice worldwide.

Let’s take a closer look at three ways this innovative technology is being utilized by leading medical practitioners to enhance training and education in hospitals. 

 

Remote resident training

In 2019, gynecologists Dr. Martine Wassen and Dr. Nicol Smeets became the first surgeons in the Netherlands to use a new surgical procedure known as Natural Orifice Transluminal Endoscopy Surgery (NOTES). This procedure is a minimally invasive surgical technique that uses natural orifices of the human body to get access to the abdominal cavity.

When they performed a Vaginal Assisted NOTES Hysterectomy in 2021, this revolutionary technique was broadcasted in real-time and high-definition video to multiple residents at the Zuyderland Medical Centre using Rods&Cones technology. 

With a more complete view of the operation, the residents were able to ask questions and communicate directly with the surgeon through the remote surgical assistance platform, which enabled a complete visual and auditory connection between the viewers and the surgeon. 

Learning from the broadcasting of this technique has created the potential to dramatically improve patient outcomes, resulting in decreased scarring, post-operative pain, shorter hospital stays, and fewer complications.

This is just one example of how diagnostic imaging can be broadcasted to surgeons and residents to continuously improve patient outcomes, facilitating the sharing of the newest techniques, and positively impacting millions of patients.

 

Dental surgery boot camp 

Earlier this year, a Dental Bootcamp was held in the Van der Valk Hotel in Ghent, Belgium. During the ‘Crown-Guide Bootcamp’, the audience was able to remotely follow a live single dental implant and immediate loading procedure from a conference room at the hotel.

Performed by periodontists Guillaume De Moyer and Valentin Vervack, the procedure utilized Rods&Cones devices to remotely connect with the audience during the dental operation, which included the use of a Straumann Bone level implant to successfully complete the procedure. 

Broadcasting the procedure in this way enabled a room full of dental professionals to learn how to successfully plan for this operation, including how to create the provisional crown, and how to perform the implant step by step. Watching the surgery live on a large high-definition screen with audio gave a much clearer picture of the procedure than if they were actually standing alongside the surgeons in the theatre itself.    

 

Peer-to-Peer consultation

When leading anaesthesiologists at the Centro Hospitalar do Médio Tejo (CHMT) introduced an innovative new anaesthesia procedure, they used Rods&Cones digital technology to provide professional assistance from outside the OR. 

This minimally invasive anaesthetic technique is an alternative to general anaesthesia, which in the case of heart patients – especially vulnerable ones – is an undeniable asset with the potential to save many lives. While Nuno Franco’s team was operating in Portugal, a professional expert located thousands of miles away in Austria was giving them exact instructions on how to successfully implement the anaesthesia. 

 

The future of surgical training and education

As these three examples show, remote access to the OR is giving medical practitioners a better view of surgical procedures and helps to enhance surgical training and education. By connecting experts, students, and physicians in real-time with the OR, surgical assistance technology from Rods&Cones is helping to educate surgeons on new procedures and enable the surgical workforce to share best practices on a global scale. 

Now, surgeons across the globe can invite peers and students into any OR to follow a procedure in real-time. Medical students can witness live surgical procedures, while experienced peers advise and comment during live surgery. And when those same students are performing surgery for the first time, they can access hand-on-your-shoulder mentoring, as a more experienced colleague guides their work remotely. 

Whether it’s communication with a colleague, or expert advice from a senior surgeon, connected remote video technology from Rods&Cones enables medical professionals to get timely support whenever they need it. That also means surgeons in remote areas of the world can connect with international experts for real-time guidance during complex procedures. 

From existing surgeons learning a new procedure to students completing their medical qualifications, learners can now view procedures from a first-person perspective, not from a 90-degree angle to the surgeon.  

Find out more about using Rods&Cones technology for surgical training and education in hospitals and medical schools.

Talk to sales