医疗技术公司如何实现社会和环境的可持续性

自从联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)在2019年发表了一份特别报告后,世界已经开始对气候变化的现实情况有所觉醒。 

气候变化的影响正在成为C-suite层面的一个重要考虑和对话,行业领导者正在寻找创新的方法来创造繁荣,同时保护地球。同时,人们的气候意识也在增强,2020年的一项调查显示 几乎是50% 的消费者对寻找 "对环境负责 "的品牌感兴趣。 

对于医疗技术等行业来说,对环境更负责任包括为产品生命周期寻找更可持续的方法,减少碳足迹,以及减轻其他负面的社会和环境影响。

那么,在提供一个更公平和更可持续的未来方面,医疗技术公司必须发挥什么作用? 

医疗技术与联合国可持续发展目标的结合

联合国可持续发展目标(SDG)提供了17个目标和一个全球框架,说明我们如何通过满足社会需求(如教育)和应对世界上最大的挑战(如气候变化)来结束贫困。 

当涉及到健康、环境和产生社会影响时,医疗技术行业完全准备好在全球范围内做出改变。事实上,整个行业与可持续发展目标是非常一致的。

目标3:良好的健康和福祉

良好的健康、福祉和更好的病人结果是医疗技术行业的核心。但是,2020年全球大流行病的发生有助于突出医疗系统中的全球不平等,并使人们注意到人类健康与环境之间的联系,许多自然生态系统受到威胁。 

世界银行看到的研究表明,大约 70% 新出现的疾病是由动物传染给人类的。而病原体往往在自然生态系统受到威胁的地方茁壮成长。     

目标10:减少不平等现象

可以说,医疗技术有一个真正的机会,通过可以帮助拯救生命的医疗设备来提升弱势社区的水平,产生强大的社会影响。这场大流行病对全世界最贫穷和最脆弱的社区造成了严重打击,这反映了目前在获得优质医疗服务方面的不平衡。例如,联合国对发展中国家进行的一项研究表明,生活在农村地区的妇女是 3倍的可能性 与城市地区的人相比,他们在分娩时死亡的可能性更大。

目标12:负责任的消费和生产

不幸的是,经济和社会进步是以环境为代价的。在人类未来生存所依赖的领域,我们的环境正在退化的程度。通过提高效率,少花钱多办事,我们可以在产品的整个生命周期内减少浪费和污染。 

像任何制成品一样,制造医疗设备的公司有可能开发出对社会和环境更负责任的价值链--有助于使整个医疗行业更加可持续。联合国估计,如果到2050年地球上的全球人口达到96亿,我们将需要大约相当于 价值3个星球的自然资源 以维持我们目前的生活方式。

目标13:气候行动 

没有一个国家能免受气候变化的影响。2020年,全球大流行病导致温室气体排放暂时下降,但随着世界恢复正常,排放量可能会再次上升。导致二氧化碳(CO2)排放的一个关键因素是航空旅行,它占到了约1/3的比例。 5% 在全球范围内。解决办法是什么?更多的可持续旅游,无论是商务还是旅游。根据一个消息来源,在2021年3月。 83% 的全球旅行者认为,可持续的旅行很重要。

Rods&Cones技术如何帮助支持可持续发展 

可持续发展被纳入Rodes&Cones技术,该技术提供了对手术室的远程访问。这对医疗销售团队和医务人员都有社会和环境方面的好处。

  • 医疗设备公司可以向更多的观众远程演示产品,而不需要承担相关的旅行和生活费用,同时还可以降低二氧化碳排放量。
  • 医疗代表可以在一天内参加更多的手术,并与医疗团队紧密合作,再次将旅行和污染降到最低,同时提高业务效率。
  • 使用Rods&Cones手术援助解决方案,来自世界各地的专家可以远程协助在偏远农村社区进行的手术,在最需要的地方提供更好的护理。
  • 医生可以立即帮助拯救生命,而不需要旅行,在最需要的时间和地点提供和接受专业知识。
  • 医学生可以通过在手术室外观看现场手术并与之互动,向世界上最好的外科医生学习。 
  • Rods&Cones技术促进了医学知识的民主化,并有助于加速改善世界各地的医疗服务。
  • 在复杂的手术过程中,医疗保健专业人员可以调用国际外科医生的专业知识。 
  • 在手术室里再找一双专家的眼睛来提供远程指导,对于医疗服务提供者来说是一种具有成本效益的方式,可以提供更好的病人结果,促进更好的决策,并提供更好的护理,减少术后并发症。  

使医疗技术更具有可持续性

在商业需求和环境需求之间取得适当的平衡,对任何行业来说都不是一件容易的事。就其性质而言,医疗技术在本质上是更可持续的未来的一部分。然而,总是有更多可以做的事情。 

为实现更可持续的未来而努力,不仅仅是一次性的修理或对商业惯例的轻微调整。虽然没有快速的解决方案来使医疗技术对环境更负责任,但像Rods&Cones公司的远程手术辅助技术这样的医疗设备为该行业的可持续发展创造了可能。

证明对企业更好的东西也可以对地球更好。 

 

 

对使用Rods&Cones技术来促进你的医疗技术销售的可持续发展感兴趣?为什么不呢? 预约演示 来看看自己的可能性!

与销售人员交谈

How MedTech companies can deliver on social and environmental sustainability

Since the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) published a special report in 2019, the world has started to wake up to the realities of climate change. 

The impact of climate change is becoming an important consideration and conversation at the C-suite level, with industry leaders looking for innovative ways to create prosperity whilst protecting the planet. At the same time, people are also more climate-conscious, with a survey in 2020 revealing that almost 50% of consumers are interested in finding brands that are ‘environmentally responsible’. 

For industries such as MedTech, being more environmentally responsible involves finding more sustainable approaches to product lifecycles, reducing carbon footprints, and mitigating other negative social and environmental impacts.

So what part do MedTech companies have to play in delivering a fairer and more sustainable future? 

Where MedTech meets UN Sustainable Development Goals

The UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) provide 17 goals and a global framework for how we can end poverty by addressing social needs, such as education, and tackling the world’s biggest challenges, like climate change. 

When it comes to health, the environment, and making a social impact, the MedTech industry is perfectly poised to make a difference, globally. In fact, the industry as a whole is very much aligned with the SDG.

Goal 3: Good Health And Well-Being

Good health, well-being, and better patient outcomes are at the heart of the MedTech industry. But the onset of the global pandemic in 2020 served to highlight global inequalities in healthcare systems, and draw attention to the links between human health and the environment, with many natural ecosystems under threat. 

Research seen by the World Bank indicates that around 70% of emerging diseases are transmitted from animals to humans. And pathogens tend to thrive in places where natural ecosystems are being threatened.     

Goal 10: Reduced Inequalities

It’s arguable that MedTech has a real opportunity to make a powerful social impact by leveling up disadvantaged communities through medical devices that can help save lives. The pandemic hit the poorest and most vulnerable communities around the world hard, and this is reflective of the current imbalance in access to quality healthcare. For example, a study of developing countries conducted by the UN shows that women living in rural areas are 3 times more likely to die in childbirth than those in urban areas.

Goal 12: Responsible Consumption And Production

Unfortunately, economic and social progress comes at an environmental cost. To the extent that our environment is degrading in areas that humans rely on for future survival. By increasing efficiencies, and doing more with less, we can reduce waste and pollution across the lifecycles of our products. 

Like any manufactured product, it’s possible for companies that create medical devices to develop more socially and environmentally responsible value chains – helping to make the healthcare sector as a whole more sustainable. The UN estimates that if the global population of Earth reaches 9.6 billion by 2050, we would need the equivalent of about 3 planets’ worth of natural resources to sustain our current lifestyles.

Goal 13: Climate Action 

No country is immune to the effects of climate change. In 2020, the global pandemic caused a temporary dip in greenhouse gas emissions, but as the world resumes business as normal, emissions are likely to rise again. A key contributor to carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions is air travel, which accounts for around 5% globally. The solution? More sustainable tourism, whether for business or pleasure. According to one source, in March 2021, 83% of global travelers believe that sustainable travel is important.

How Rods&Cones technology helps support sustainability 

Sustainability is baked into Rods&Cones technology, which provides remote access to the operating room (OR). This has social and environmental benefits for both medical sales teams and medical professionals:

  • Medical device companies can demo products remotely to a wider audience, without incurring the associated travel and subsistence costs, as well as lowering CO2 emissions.
  • Medical reps can attend more surgeries in a day and work closely with healthcare teams, again minimizing travel and pollution, at the same time as increasing business efficiency.
  • Using a Rods&Cones surgery assistance solution, specialists from around the world can assist remotely with procedures taking place in isolated rural communities, providing better care where it’s most needed.
  • Doctors can help save lives instantly without the need for travel, giving and receiving expertise when and where it’s needed most.
  • Medical students can learn from the best surgeons in the world by watching and interacting with live surgery from outside the OR. 
  • Rods&Cones technology facilitates the democratization of medical knowledge, and helps to accelerate improvements in medical care around the world.
  • Healthcare professionals can call upon the expertise of international surgeons during complex procedures. 
  • Getting another pair of expert eyes in the OR to offer guidance remotely is a cost-effective way for healthcare providers to deliver better patient outcomes, facilitate better decision-making, and provide better care with fewer post-op complications.  

Making MedTech more sustainable

Striking the right balance between business needs and environmental necessities is no easy task – for any industry. By its very nature, MedTech is intrinsically part of a more sustainable future. However, there is always more that can be done. 

Working towards a more sustainable future involves much more than a one-off repair or slight adjustment in business practices. Whilst there is no quick fix for making MedTech more environmentally responsible, medical devices like remote surgical assistance technologies from Rods&Cones create the possibility for more sustainable practices within the sector.

Proving that what’s better for business can also be better for the planet. 

 

 

Interested in using Rods&Cones technology to facilitate more sustainable practices in your MedTech sales? Why not book a demo to see the possibilities for yourself!

Talk to sales