确保远程手术辅助技术用户的数据隐私和安全合规性

对于医疗技术代表和医疗保健专业人士来说,当你使用远程协助技术与手术室(OR)连接时,通常有两个关键问题:它是否容易使用?以及我们的数据是否安全?

随着外部网络攻击风险的持续存在,以及人为错误和意外数据泄露等内部威胁,数据隐私和安全合规越来越多地成为首席执行官层面谈话的一部分。举例来说,在2021年,近 40% 英国的组织报告了一次网络攻击。 

在像医疗保健这样受到严格监管的行业,数据隐私和安全合规性长期以来一直是一个重要的考虑因素,无论是医生的手术和医院之间的病人数据共享,还是医疗设备公司内部的安全合规性。

当涉及到使用远程手术辅助技术时,医疗专业人员和医疗器械公司如何才能保持安全和合规?

 

了解风险

在一个受到严格监管并处理大量敏感数据的行业中运营,从一开始就做好数据保密工作是至关重要的,原因有二:数据泄露的补救成本很高,而且对专业和机构的声誉以及病人的信心也有很大的损害。  

如果对 "引擎盖 "下的安全没有正确的理解,从表面上看,通过互联网连接进行直播手术有明显的风险。好消息是,这些风险很容易缓解,而且,由于我们只与领先的外科医生、医疗服务提供者和医疗设备公司合作,数据隐私和安全合规性被作为标准纳入Rods&Cones技术中。 

作为一家公司,我们的信息安全计划在行政、技术和操作控制方面规定了明确和易于操作的公司做法。然而,为了确保我们的产品超越行业标准,Rods&Cones一直致力于提供最好的隐私和安全细节。从意识到远程访问技术所产生的隐私和安全问题开始,到在需要时投入和分配正确的资源。这就是为什么我们任命了一位数据隐私专家和顾问Oriol Llaurado,以帮助提高标准并进一步降低安全风险。 

 

数据隐私和安全专业知识

"首先,我们与客户签订了具有法律约束力的合同,说明我们将如何保护他们的数据。其次,我们应用GDPR中所述的最小化原则。通过设计,我们的产品和应用程序收集最低数量的数据,以提供我们的服务"。

- Oriol Llaurado, 隐私官, Rods&Cones 

Oriol Llaurado专门研究技术对隐私的影响。他的背景是在企业部门,他主要关注围绕收集客户数据的法律合规问题。自2014年以来,Oriol一直专注于数据隐私和数据保护。

医疗技术公司和医院都有道德和法律责任,确保病人数据得到安全和正确的处理。有具有法律约束力的合同来保护客户数据,并有《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR)等立法。但对病人和医疗专业人员也有道德责任。因此,引进设备,使你能够从手术室直播手术,显然是一个安全问题,了解如何维护安全和数据保护是很重要的。 

由于其在医疗保健领域的应用,Rods&Cones有时被看作是一家医疗设备公司。因此,人们常常惊讶地发现,Rods&Cones在设计上没有访问医疗数据。所有的病人数据都由医院持有,不是Rods&Cones技术需要或需要访问的东西。这同样适用于录制的录像,Rods&Cones不存储这些录像。在内部,我们遵循GDPR最小化原则,只连接最小数量的客户数据。 

来自手术室的广播具有端对端加密功能。这可以保护它们不被第三方访问,因为它们从一个设备安全地传输到另一个设备,如visor耳机到远程外科医生的电脑。我们的平台和存储的个人数据通过微软Azure托管在云端,符合最高的安全标准(ISO 27018),包括256位AES加密、备份和灾难。 

恢复,以及128位SSL加密的网络通信。   

通过结合强有力的数据安全措施和对持续不断的培训的承诺,Rods&Cones履行了其监管责任。但是,因为我们知道数据隐私和安全合规性对我们的客户是多么重要,我们已经超越了,努力争取获得非法定安全标准ISO27001的认证。 

 

为远程协助技术的用户提供安心的保障

底线是什么?对于任何应用于医疗保健领域的新设备或技术,强大的数据隐私和安全合规性是产品的一个重要组成部分。 

对于医疗专业人员、患者和医疗器械公司本身来说,安全功能不是一个可有可无的附加功能,也不是一个 "不错的选择",而是一个关键的业务组成部分和监管要求,从一开始就必须是正确的。

 

想了解更多关于Rods&Cones远程协助技术的安全证书的详细信息?请阅读我们的完整 安全声明.

与销售人员交谈

Ensuring data privacy and security compliance for users of remote surgical assistance technology

For MedTech reps and healthcare professionals alike, when you’re using remote assistance technology to connect with the operating room (OR) there are usually two key questions: is it easy to use? And is our data secure?

With an ongoing risk of external cyberattacks, alongside internal threats such as human errors and accidental data breaches, data privacy and security compliance are increasingly part of the conversation at the C-suite level. As an example, in 2021 nearly 40% of organizations in the UK reported a cyberattack. 

In tightly regulated industries like healthcare, data privacy and security compliance have long been an important consideration, whether that’s the sharing of patient data between doctors’ surgeries and hospitals, or the security compliance within medical device companies.

When it comes to using remote surgical assistance technology, how can medical professionals and medical device companies stay secure and compliant?

 

Knowing the risks

Operating in a sector that is both heavily regulated, and handles a lot of sensitive data, getting data privacy right from the get-go is essential for two reasons: a data breach is expensive to put right, and it’s also hugely damaging to professional and institutional reputations and patient confidence.  

Without a proper understanding of the security in place ‘under the hood’, on a surface level, streaming live surgery over an internet connection carries obvious risk. The good news is that these risks are easily mitigated and, because we only work alongside leading surgeons, healthcare providers, and medical device companies, data privacy and security compliance are baked in as standard into Rods&Cones technology. 

As a company, our information security program sets out clear and easily-actionable company practices across administrative, technical, and operational controls. However, to ensure our offering goes above and beyond the industry standard, Rods&Cones has been committed to providing the best privacy and security details. Starting from being aware of the privacy and security implications that arise with remote access technology to dedicating and allocating the right resources where needed. This is why we appointed a data privacy expert and consultant, Oriol Llaurado, to help raise the bar and drive down the security risks even further. 

 

Data privacy and security expertise

“Firstly, we have legally binding contracts with customers stating how we will protect their data. Secondly, we apply the minimization principle stated in the GDPR. By design, our products and apps collect the minimum amount of data to provide our services.”

– Oriol Llaurado, Privacy Officer, Rods&Cones 

Oriol Llaurado specializes in the impact of technology on privacy. His background is in the corporate sector, where he mainly focuses on legal compliance around the collection of customers’ data. Since 2014, Oriol has focused on data privacy and data protection.

Both MedTech companies and hospitals have an ethical and legal responsibility to ensure patient data is handled securely and correctly. There are legally binding contracts protecting customer data and legislation such as General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). But there’s also an ethical duty to patients and medical professionals. So bringing in equipment, which enables you to broadcast live surgery from the OR, is obviously a security concern, it’s important to know how security and data protection is upheld. 

With its application within healthcare, Rods&Cones is sometimes seen as a medical device company. So people are often surprised to learn that Rods&Cones has no access to medical data by design. All patient data is held by the hospital and is not something that Rods&Cones technology requires or needs to access. The same applies to the recorded footage, which is not stored by Rods&Cones. Internally, we follow the GDPR minimization principle, only connecting the minimum amount of customer data. 

Broadcasts from the OR have end-to-end encryption. This protects them from third-party access as they’re securely transferred from one device to another, such as the visOR headset to a remote surgeon’s computer. Our platform and stored personal data are hosted in the cloud via Microsoft Azure, which meets the highest security standards (ISO 27018), including 256-bit AES Encryption, Backups and Disaster 

Recovery, and Web Communications in 128-bit SSL Encryption.   

Through a combination of robust data security measures and commitment to continuous and ongoing training, Rods&Cones meets its regulatory responsibility. But because we know how important data privacy and security compliance are to our customers, we’ve gone above and beyond to work towards getting certified by the non-statutory security standard ISO27001. 

 

Peace of mind for users of remote assistance technology

The bottom line? For any new device or technology with application in the healthcare sector, robust data privacy and security compliance are an essential part of the offering. 

For medical professionals, patients, and medical device companies themselves, security features are not an optional extra or a ‘nice to have’ they are a business-critical component and a regulatory requirement that needs to be right from the outset.

 

Looking for more detailed information about the security credentials of remote assistance technology from Rods&Cones? Read our full security statement.

Talk to sales