揭穿关于远程辅助手术的5个神话

当涉及到在牢固确立的领域引入新技术时,如医疗保健或医疗设备销售,员工之间总是存在一定程度的怀疑态度。 

这是为什么呢?好吧,经验丰富的专业人员可能会觉得更抗拒改变,如果他们认为既定的工作方式已经足够有效。 

他们也可能看不到新技术的长期好处--如果结果在他们的日常活动中不明显,或者没有直接和明显的影响。在某种程度上,他们也可能对技术进步感到威胁,担心数字化转型可能会导致冗余的出现。

然而,如果说全球大流行病教会了我们一件事,那就是远程数字技术不仅使我们的工作方式具有更大的灵活性,它们还能使工作方式更加高效和可持续。 

远程协助技术正在使全球范围内的医疗知识共享发生革命性的变化并实现民主化。它正在改善领先的外科医生和医疗设备公司的联系方式,它正在帮助改善世界每个角落的病人的治疗效果。 

但是,随着远程辅助手术在全球范围内继续获得医疗保健专业人士和医疗设备公司的青睐,它也面临着一些过于普遍的神话的挑战。  

 

误解1:限制性强

一个常见的误解是,住院医生或外科医生在接受新的培训或进修课程时,在手术室(OR)看到的东西比他们通过屏幕看到的东西多。实际上,在手术室里,他们的视野被限制在手术的 "肩上"--尤其是像血管外科这样的深层手术。正如波尔多大学血管外科教授Xavier Berard博士在我们最近的文章中所指出的,对于外科技能的教学和学习,外科医生的眼睛是最好的。有了智能外科眼镜,观众就能获得最佳的手术视野。 

也就是说,当需要更广泛的背景时,像Rods&Cones这样的设备就会出现。 泛欧它可以提供整个手术室的360度视野,而且可以远程控制。此外,通过在手术室增加一个与智能手术眼镜相连的屏幕,Rods&Cones monitOR等设备可以通过与护士和辅助人员分享外科医生的视频和音频,将完整的画面带给他们。 

在手术室里,你有两只眼睛和一个角度。远程协助技术开辟了多个角度,并为正在发生的一切提供了完整的画面。  

 

误解2:它很复杂 

不幸的是,在购买新设备时,所有技术的声誉有时被消费者的负面经历所玷污。作为消费者,许多人都经历过技术的挫折,当一个设备未能达到它所声称的简单性。通常的情况是,没有提供纸质手册,而是寻找在线教程来获得设备的操作和使用。医疗专业人员在工作中要处理的事情已经够多了,不需要再增加一层复杂的技术。

Rods&Cones套装的不同之处在于,所有的东西都包含在一个储存箱中,并被设计为可以直接开箱使用。这是一种即插即用的技术,其中包括我们团队的培训,因此你可以在短时间内启动和运行。我们还提供24/5的技术支持,所以你在入职后不会感到孤单。令人欣慰的是,通过我们的远程服务,不需要安装软件,你只需连接到Wi-Fi或4G。 

 

误解3:它正在取代人类

远程协助技术可以改善病人的治疗效果,推动医疗行业的效率。但它并不能取代人。顾名思义,它的作用是通过连接人们来协助他们。部署在手术室里,这项技术让远程医疗从业人员对手术有一个完整的了解,有利于更好地培训住院医生,让可能被要求提供支持的医疗专家有更清晰的认识。 

对于医疗设备公司来说,它为代表们提供了更大的覆盖面,他们可以在一次演示中与多个潜在客户联系,消除了前往多个地点的需要,并节省了时间和金钱。不幸的是,远程技术并不能为你实现销售。你需要人去做这个!

 

误区4:不安全 

通信技术的主要关切之一是数据隐私和安全。这在医疗保健领域尤其如此,该领域受到严格的监管,并受到越来越严格的数据隐私法规的约束。因此,通过互联网或数据连接流媒体直播手术的概念使有安全意识的医疗机构特别谨慎。这样做是正确的。数据泄露可能是昂贵的,并对声誉和病人的信心造成巨大的损害。 

这就是为什么Rods&Cones维持一个信息安全计划,对我们在行政、技术和操作功能方面处理的信息类型采用正确的控制水平。Rods&Cones的平台和存储的个人数据被托管和存储在微软Azure(通过ISO 27018认证)。数据的物理托管在荷兰,并完全符合GDPR的要求。我们的物理安全包括。

  • 256位AES加密
  • 网络安全
  • 备份和灾难恢复
  • 128位SSL加密的网络通信
  • 开放式网络应用程序安全项目前十名

关于我们如何保护您的数据的更多详细信息,请阅读我们的 安全声明.

 

误区5:价格昂贵

许多人认为,远程技术是昂贵的。但是,当你把实施Rods&Cones远程协助解决方案的成本与派医疗专家或医疗设备代表到国内另一个地方,甚至世界其他地方的差旅费和生活费相比,成本节约和可持续性收益就变得很明显了。 

不仅如此,通过消除旅行的需要,远程手术援助节省了时间,并为有关专家的亲自手术开辟了时间表。在手术时间方面也有潜在的节省,因为在远程专家与手术室相连的情况下,知识的分享可以实时发生,并有可能加快手术--特别是在那些最需要更具体专家建议的情况下。 

 

看清价值

总而言之,如果不深入了解该技术是什么,它的作用,以及它在知识共享、改进程序和改善病人结果方面对医疗专业人员的好处,围绕远程手术技术的迷思是可以理解的。这就是要看到这种尖端技术的价值,它是医疗行业内更广泛的工具的一部分。

Rods&Cones为医疗保健专业人士、医学院和医疗器械公司提供各种远程手术解决方案。浏览我们的 产品 以找到适合你的解决方案。

与销售人员交谈

5 Myths About Remote Assisted Surgery Debunked

When it comes to the introduction of new technology in firmly established fields, such as healthcare or medical device sales, there’s always a certain amount of skepticism among employees. 

Why is this? Well, seasoned professionals may feel more resistant to change if they believe that established ways of working are already effective enough. 

They also may not see the long-term benefits of new technology – if the results are not tangible in their day-to-day activities, or if there’s no immediate and obvious impact. To a certain extent, they may also feel threatened by technological advances, fearing that digital transformation might lead to redundancy.

However, if there’s one thing the global pandemic has taught us, it’s that remote digital technology not only allows greater flexibility in the ways we work, they enable more efficient and sustainable ways of working. 

Remote assistance technology is revolutionizing and democratizing the sharing of medical knowledge on a global scale. It’s improving how leading surgeons and medical device companies connect, and it’s helping to improve patient outcomes in every corner of the world. 

But as remote-assisted surgery continues to gain traction with healthcare professionals and medical device companies around the globe, it faces the challenge of some all too common myths.  

 

Myth 1: It’s restrictive

A common misconception is that residents, or surgeons, undertaking new training or refresher courses, see more in the operating room (OR) than they do through a screen. In reality, in the OR their view is restricted to an ‘over the shoulder’ perspective of the operation – especially with deep procedures, like Vascular Surgery. As Dr. Xavier Berard, Professor of Vascular Surgery at the University of Bordeaux points out in our recent article, for teaching and learning surgical skills, a surgeon’s eye view is best. With smart surgical glasses, viewers get the best view of proceedings. 

That said, when a wider context is needed a device like Rods&Cones panOR, can provide a 360-degree view of the entire OR, and it can be controlled remotely. Furthermore, by adding a screen in the OR which is connected to smart surgical glasses, devices such as Rods&Cones monitOR, can bring the complete picture to nurses and supporting staff by sharing the surgeon’s video and audio with them. 

In the OR, you have two eyes and one angle. Remote assistance technology opens up multiple angles and a complete picture of everything taking place.  

 

Myth 2: It’s complex 

Unfortunately, the reputation of all technology is sometimes tarred by negative consumer experiences when purchasing a new device. Many people have experienced the frustration of technology as a consumer when a device fails to live up to the simplicity it purports to offer. It’s often the case that no paper manuals are provided, and online tutorials are sought out to get the device operational and use it. Medical professionals have enough to deal with in their working day, without an additional layer of complex technology.

The difference with Rods&Cones kits is that everything is contained within one storage case, and is designed to be used straight out of the box. It’s a plug-and-play technology, which includes training from our team, so you can get up and running in no time. We also offer 24/5 technical support, so you’re never alone after onboarding. It’s reassuring to know that with our remote services, there’s no software installation required, you simply connect to Wi-Fi or 4G. 

 

Myth 3: It’s replacing humans

Remote assistance technology can improve patient outcomes and drive efficiencies in the healthcare industry. But it doesn’t replace people. As the name suggests, its role is to assist people by connecting them. Deployed in the OR, this technology gives remote medical practitioners a complete view of a procedure, facilitating better training for residents and a clearer view for medical experts who may be called upon to provide support. 

For medical device companies, it provides greater reach for reps who could connect with multiple prospects in a single demonstration, removing the need to travel to multiple locations, and saving time and money. Unfortunately, remote technology doesn’t make the sale for you. You need people to do that!

 

Myth 4: It’s unsecure 

One of the major concerns with communications technologies is data privacy and security. This is especially true in healthcare, which is heavily regulated and subject to increasingly stringent data privacy regulations. So the concept of streaming live surgery over an Internet or data connection makes security-conscious healthcare providers particularly cautious. And rightly so. A data breach can be costly, and hugely damaging to both reputations, and patient confidence. 

That’s why Rods&Cones maintains an information security program that employs the correct level of control for the types of information we process in terms of administrative, technical, and operational functionality. Rods&Cones’ platform and stored personal data are hosted and stored on Microsoft Azure (certified ISO 27018). The data is physically hosted in The Netherlands and is fully GDPR-compliant. Our physical security includes:

  • 256-bit AES Encryption
  • Network Security
  • Backups And Disaster Recovery
  • Web Communications in 128-bit SSL Encryption
  • Open Web Application Security Project Top 10

For more detailed information on how we protect your data, read our Security Statement.

 

Myth 5: It’s expensive

Many people believe that remote technology is expensive. But when you compare the cost of implementing Rods&Cones remote assistance solution with say the travel and subsistence costs of sending a medical expert or medical device rep to another part of the country, or even somewhere else in the world, the cost savings and sustainability gains become clear. 

Not only that, by eliminating the need to travel, remote surgical assistance saves time and opens up the schedule for more in-person surgery from the specialist concerned. There’s also a potential saving in terms of surgery times because, with a remote expert connected with the OR, the sharing of knowledge can happen in real-time and potentially expedite surgery – especially in those cases where more specific expert advice is most needed. 

 

Seeing the value

All in all, the myths around remote surgery technology are understandable without the insight into what the technology is, what it does, and its benefit to medical professionals in terms of knowledge sharing, improved procedures, and better patient outcomes. It’s about seeing the value of this cutting-edge technology as part of a wider repertoire of tools within the healthcare industry.

Rods&Cones offers a variety of remote surgery solutions for healthcare professionals, medical schools, and medical device companies. Browse our products to find the right solution for you.

Talk to sales