领先的血管外科教授如何利用棒子和骨头来分享最佳实践

泽维尔-贝拉尔博士是一位血管外科医生,自2010年以来,他一直是波尔多大学医院血管外科的顾问。他也是波尔多大学血管外科的教授。

血管手术解决影响血管系统的疾病,包括动脉、静脉和淋巴管。这是一个高度专业化的领域,涉及冗长、复杂和深入的操作。虽然市场上有许多血管内模拟装置可以教授血管成形术和(支架)移植术,但在全球范围内,缺乏通过现场开放血管手术(如主动脉瘤修复)培训受训者和合格外科医生的机会。

最有效的培训方法之一是录制现场手术并与医学生和专业人士分享,但这需要合适的技术。Xavier Berard医生已经尝试了几种解决方案,最近发现了Rods&Cones远程协助服务的好处。

 

挑战

"有了这个设备,你可以记录手术,并在需要时进行流式传输。这是一个强大的教育工具"。

Xavier Berard博士,波尔多大学血管外科教授

在法国,与世界上许多其他国家一样,对开放性手术的培训有着巨大的需求。问题是什么?培训中心数量有限,无法满足大量受训者的需求。举个例子,法国有大约7000万居民,但只有30个培训中心--并非所有的培训中心都提供复杂的血管内和开放性血管手术。

此外,血管外科需要的技能无法从教科书上充分传授。由于受训者没有能力看到开放性手术,他们必须依靠模拟来学习,这对这种错综复杂的手术来说并不理想。这不仅造成了教学问题,而且在有机会接触现场手术的人和没有机会的人之间形成了巨大的技能差距。

在整个欧洲,开放手术和血管内手术的比例正在扩大,医生们可以努力寻找开放手术中心。美国也有类似的问题,而且对替代解决方案有巨大的需求。那么答案是什么呢?

根据他作为血管外科教授的丰富学术经验,Xavier Berard博士认为录制的手术和直播有真正的教育价值。面临的挑战是,血管手术可能需要3至5个小时--这对屏幕来说是很长的时间,对学生或受训者来说也是很长的时间来观看。他认为,最好的教育方式是通过20至30分钟的形式,可以是经过编辑的录像或某一特定手术的一部分。然而,这意味着必须对手术进行录制和编辑,使其与学生相关。

 

解决方案

"在我的实践中,在开腹手术中,它非常深,有时只有外科医生能看到发生的情况。捕捉它的方法--就是这种设备。"

Xavier Berard博士,波尔多大学血管外科教授

在他作为教授和领先的外科医生的时候,Berard博士也尝试了各种技术和方法,为他的学生创建高清(HD)视频培训内容。他尝试过行动摄像机和智能手机,以及两者的组合--但似乎总是遇到困难,如高清模式下的低电池寿命。

不仅如此,这些设备还需要适应手术室(OR)的环境。虽然带有高质量摄像头的 "专业 "智能手机能提供所需的高质量镜头,但它们也需要外科医生以外的操作者。这意味着观众得到的是 "肩上的视角",就像他们在手术室里站在外科医生身边时一样。

对教育工作者来说,最好的东西是使用身临其境、易于使用的技术,以外科医生的眼光来看待手术。这对于血管手术来说尤其如此,因为血管手术通常很深,除了外科医生之外,其他人很难看到。高清视频对于实现缩放和编辑也是必不可少的。当非高清视频变得像素化时,它就失去了作为教育工具的价值。有时,外科医生也有必要退后一步,与助手进行讨论。可穿戴技术使你能够做到这一点。

因此,当Berard医生发现LinkedIn上有一篇关于Rods&Cones设备被用于他的专业领域之外的其他类型的手术时,他进行了查询,并设法获得了Rods&Cones的远程协助服务。

 

影响

Rods&Cones的visor-V适用于任何类型的手术,但Berard医生是首批将其用于血管手术的外科医生之一。它立即给了他所需要的手术视野,让他与更多人分享他的专业知识,因此,医院将员工室与手术室连接起来。

在使用该技术的头几个月里,贝拉尔博士与来自大学的研究员和住院医生一起开设了内部课程。他还欢迎来自法国不同地区的同事从员工室远程观看手术。有了内置的安全性,就很容易遵守数据隐私法规,并保护病人的身份,尤其是记录的病例很容易被删除。

随着他建立了一个教育视频内容库,在医疗专业人员日益增长的需求中,越来越明显的是,使用Rods&Cones技术创建和分享教育内容,以改善外科培训,并最终改善病人的结果,是有前途的。

作为一名教育工作者,Berard博士看到了在全球范围内应用远程协助技术的潜力,可以在世界任何地方进行新技术(或在世界某些地方失去专业知识)、进修课程和受训人员的持续教育。他还认为,在护理人员短缺的时候,这也是教育更多手术室护士的可行手段。

了解Rods&Cones如何帮助改善贵医院的外科培训。 预约演示.

 

与销售人员交谈

How a Leading Professor of Vascular Surgery Uses Rods&Cones to Share Best Practice

Dr. Xavier Berard is a Vascular Surgeon, and since 2010 he’s been a Consultant in the Department of Vascular Surgery at the Bordeaux University Hospital. He’s also a Professor of Vascular Surgery at the University of Bordeaux.

Vascular surgeries address diseases affecting the vascular system including arteries, veins, and lymphatic vessels. It’s a highly specialized field involving lengthy, complex, and deep operations. Whilst there are many endovascular simulators on the market to teach angioplasty and (stent)graft implantation in vessels, globally there’s a lack of opportunities for training both trainees and qualified surgeons via live open vascular surgery, like aortic aneurysm repair.

One of the most effective methods of training is to record live surgery and share it with medical students and professionals, but that requires the right technology. Dr. Xavier Berard has tried several solutions and recently discovered the benefits of the Rods&Cones remote assistance service.

 

The Challenge

“With this device, you can record surgery and stream it, if needed. It’s a powerful tool for education.”

Dr. Xavier Berard, Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Bordeaux

In France, as with many other countries around the world, there is a huge demand for training in open surgeries. The problem? A limited number of training centers to cater to large numbers of trainees. To take an example, France has approximately 70 million inhabitants and only 30 training centers – not all of which offer complex endovascular and open Vascular Surgery.

Furthermore, Vascular Surgery requires skills that cannot be taught adequately from a textbook. Without the capacity for trainees to see open surgery, they must rely on simulations to learn, which is not ideal for such intricate and complex procedures. This not only creates teaching issues but also opens up a huge skills gap between those with access to live surgery and those without.

Throughout Europe, the ratio between open and endovascular surgery is widening in Europe, physicians can struggle to find open surgery centers. The US has a similar problem and a huge need for an alternative solution. So what’s the answer?

From his extensive academic experience as a Professor of Vascular Surgery, Dr. Xavier Berard sees real educational value in recorded surgeries and live streams. The challenge is that Vascular Surgery can take 3 to 5 hours – which is a long time to be onscreen and a long time for students or trainees to watch. In his view, the best way to educate is through a 20 to a 30-minute format, which could either be edited footage or a section of a particular procedure. However, this means the surgery must be recorded and edited to make it relevant to students.

 

The Solution

“In my practice, in open abdomen surgery, it’s very deep and sometimes only the surgeon can see what happens. The way to capture it – is this kind of device.”

Dr. Xavier Berard, Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Bordeaux

In his time as a professor, and a leading surgeon, Dr. Berard has also tried various technologies and approaches to create high definition (HD) video training content for his students. He’s tried action cameras and smartphones, as well as combinations of both – but always seems to run into difficulties such as low-battery life in HD mode.

Not only that, but these devices also need adapting for the operating room (OR) environment. Whilst ‘pro’ smartphones with high-quality cameras produce the quality footage required, they also need an operator other than the surgeon. This means viewers get an ‘over-the-shoulder perspective’ as they would when standing beside the surgeon in the OR.

The best thing for educators is a surgeon’s eye view of the operation using immersive, easy-to-use technology. This is especially true for Vascular Surgery, which is often deep and difficult to see for anyone other than the surgeon. HD video is also essential to enable zooming and editing. When non-HD video becomes pixelated – it loses value as an educational tool. Sometimes it’s also necessary for surgeons to step back and have a discussion with an assistant. Wearable technology allows you to do this.

So when Dr. Berard spotted a LinkedIn post about Rods&Cones devices being used in other types of surgery, outside his field of expertise, he made inquiries and managed to get a hold of the Rods&Cones remote assistance service.

 

The Impact

Rods&Cones’ visOR-V works for any type of surgery, but Dr. Berard was one of the first surgeons to use it for Vascular Surgery. Immediately, it gave him the surgical vision he needed to share his expertise with a broader audience and, as a result, the hospital has connected the staff room with the OR.

In the first few months of using the technology, Dr. Berard ran internal courses with fellows and residents from the university. He also welcomed colleagues from different parts of France who sat in on surgeries remotely from the staff room. With built-in security, it’s easy to comply with data privacy regulations, and protect patient identity, especially as recorded cases are easily deleted.

As he builds a library of educational video content, amidst growing demand from medical professionals, it’s becoming more obvious that there’s a future in creating and sharing educational content using Rods&Cones technologies to improve surgical training and, ultimately, patient outcomes.

In his role as an educator, Dr. Berard sees the potential of applying remote assistance technology on a global scale, for continuous education on new techniques (or in some parts of the world lost expertise), refresher courses, and trainees anywhere in the world. He also sees it as a viable means of educating more OR nurses at a time when there’s a nursing shortage.

To find out how Rods&Cones could help improve surgical training in your hospital, book a demo.

 

Talk to sales